General News Health International

UK adds Ghana and 53 other countries to red list for recruitment of Health Workers

UK adds Ghana and 53 other countries to red list for recruitment of Health Workers

The United Kingdom (UK) government has published a revised code of practice for international recruitment of health and social care personnel in England.

The code includes a red list of 54 countries, which includes Ghana, Nigeria, Angola, and Cameroon, that should not be actively targeted for recruitment by health and social care employers.

Metro Lens

The code applies to the appointment of all international health and social care personnel in the UK, including all permanent, temporary, and locum staff in clinical and non-clinical settings.

It defines active international recruitment as the process by which UK health and social care employers target individuals to market UK employment opportunities, with the intention of recruiting to a role in the UK health or social care sector.

The countries on the red list have a UHC Service Coverage Index that is lower than 50 and a density of doctors, nurses, and midwives that is below the global median.

The UK government said the list is based upon the World Health Organisation Workforce Support and Safeguard List, 2023 and will be updated alongside progress reports on WHO Global Code implementation and reported to the World Health Assembly every three years.

However, being on the list does not prevent individual health and social care personnel from independently applying to health and social care employers for employment in the UK.

In March this year, the WHO included Ghana and 54 other countries on its Health Workforce Support and Safeguards List 2023.

The global health body stated that the countries face the most pressing health workforce challenges related to universal health coverage. “In particular, these countries have:

  1. a density of doctors, nurses and midwives below the global median;
  2. a universal health coverage service coverage index below a certain threshold,” WHO said in the report released March 8.

A total of 37 countries were listed under the African Region category, including Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, and Gabon.

Others were Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Togo, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Leave feedback about this

  • Quality
  • Price
  • Service


Add Field


Add Field
Choose Image
Choose Video