Local Politics

Ama Sey Vows to Reclaim Akwatia Seat in 2024 General Election

Ama Sey Vows to Reclaim Akwatia Seat in 2024 General Election

Mercy Adu-Gyamfi, also known as Ama Sey, the former Member of Parliament (MP) for Akwatia in the Eastern Region under the New Patriotic Party (NPP), has expressed her determination to reclaim the Akwatia seat from the National Democratic Congress (NDC) in the upcoming 2024 general election.

Mrs. Adu-Gyamfi, who previously served as the MP in the seventh Parliament after winning the 2016 general election on the NPP ticket, faced defeat in her re-election bid during the party’s parliamentary primary.

Metro Lens

Ernest Kumi, who later lost the seat to the NDC in the 2020 election, emerged victorious in that primary.

Nevertheless, Ama Sey remains steadfast in her resolve to regain the seat for the NPP. She made her intentions clear when she received the party’s parliamentary nomination forms, which were presented to her by a group of NPP polling station executive members who picked the forms on her behalf in Akwatia last Friday.

She emphasized that her primary motivation for staging a comeback is to serve the people of Akwatia and bring development to the area.

Throughout this process, Ama Sey has engaged in extensive consultations with key personalities within and outside the NPP about her decision to contest for the parliamentary seat once again on the party’s ticket in 2024.

The NPP has opened nominations in 137 constituencies, known as orphan constituencies, where the party currently lacks sitting MPs.

This process began on Tuesday, July 11, 2023, and is expected to close on Thursday, August 10, 2023.

The elections in these orphan constituencies will take place on a case-by-case basis to select parliamentary candidates who will represent the NPP in the 2024 general election.

These elections will occur between September 2023 and December 2, 2023.

The Akwatia parliamentary seat is currently held by the NDC, with Henry Yiadom Boakye as the MP who secured victory in the 2020 general election, defeating Ernest Kumi of the NPP.

Mr. Boakye obtained 19,899 votes, representing 51.5% of the vote, while Mr. Kumi garnered 18,742 votes, representing 48.5% of the vote.

Leave feedback about this

  • Quality
  • Price
  • Service


Add Field


Add Field
Choose Image
Choose Video